NOTICE OF ORDER

This Order commences an adjudicative proceeding under the provisions of RSA 361-A (including RSA 361-A:3-a), RSA 541-A and JUS 800.

LEGAL AUTHORITY AND JURISDICTION

Pursuant to RSA 361-A:3, the Banking Department of the State of New Hampshire (hereinafter the "Department") has the authority to issue an order to show cause why license revocation and penalties for violations of New Hampshire Banking laws should not be imposed.

Pursuant to RSA 361-A:3-a, the Department has the authority to issue and cause to be served an order requiring any person about to engage in or who has engaged in any act or practice constituting a violation of RSA 361-A or any rule or order thereunder, to cease and desist from violations of RSA 361-A.

Pursuant to RSA 361-A:5, the Commissioner may issue, amend, or rescind such orders as are reasonably necessary to comply with the provisions of the Chapter.

Pursuant to RSA 361-A:11, the Commissioner has the authority to suspend, revoke or deny any license and to impose administrative penalties of up to \$2,500.00 for each violation of New Hampshire banking law and rules.

Pursuant to RSA 383:10-d, the Commissioner shall investigate conduct that is or may be an unfair or deceptive act or practice under RSA 358-A and exempt under RSA 358-A:3,I or that may violate any of the provisions of Titles XXXV and XXXVI and administrative rules adopted thereunder. The Commissioner may hold hearings relative to such conduct and may order restitution for a person or persons adversely affected by such conduct.

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A HEARING

The above named Respondent has the right to request a hearing on this Cease and Desist Order, as well as the right to be represented by counsel at the Respondent's own expense. All hearings shall comply with RSA 541-A. Any such request for a hearing shall be in writing, and signed by the Respondent or the duly authorized agent of the above named Respondent, and shall be delivered either by hand or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire, 53 Regional Drive, Suite 200, Concord, NH 03301. Such hearings will be scheduled within 10 days of the Department's receipt of the request. If the Respondent fails to appear at the hearing after being duly notified, such person shall be deemed in default, and the proceeding may be determined against the Respondent upon consideration of the Cease and Desist Order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true.

If the above named Respondent fails to request a hearing within 30

calendar days of receipt of such order or reach a formal written and executed settlement with the Department within that time frame, then such person shall likewise be deemed in default, and the orders shall, on the thirty-first day, become permanent, and shall remain in full force and effect until and unless later modified or vacated by the Commissioner, for good cause shown.

STATEMENT OF ALLEGATIONS, APPLICABLE LAWS AND REQUEST FOR RELIEF

The <u>Staff Petition</u> dated June 12, 2009 (a copy of which is attached hereto) is incorporated by reference hereto.

ORDER

WHEREAS, finding it necessary and appropriate and in the public interest, and consistent with the intent and purposes of the New Hampshire banking laws, and

WHEREAS, finding that the allegations contained in the Staff Petition, if proved true and correct, form the legal basis of the relief requested,

It is hereby ORDERED, that:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

2.4

25

 Respondent Francis Colburn (hereinafter, "Respondent Colburn") shall immediately cease originating direct "buy here, pay here" loans and/or financing such loans for vehicles purchased elsewhere while unlicensed with the New Hampshire Banking Department; and

It is hereby further ORDERED, that:

2. Respondent Colburn shall show cause why penalties in the amount of \$12,500.00 should not be imposed against him;

1	3.	Respondent Colburn shall show cause why he should not be
2		ordered to reimburse consumers such sums as were collected
3		in violation of RSA 361-A:7; and
4	4.	Respondent Colburn shall show cause why he should not be
5		ordered to reimburse consumers such sums as were collected
6		in violation of RSA 361-A:11.
7	It is her	reby further ORDERED that:
8	5.	Respondent Colburn shall immediately Cease and Desist from
9		all violations of New Hampshire law and the rules
10		promulgated thereunder; and
11	6.	Failure to request a hearing within 30 days of the date of
12		receipt or valid delivery of this Order shall result in a
13		default judgment being rendered and administrative penalties
14		imposed upon the defaulting Respondent(s).
15		SIGNED,
16		
17		
18		
19	Dated: 06/12/09	/s/
20		PETER C. HILDRETH BANK COMMISSIONER
21		
22		
23		
24		

1	State of New Hampshire Banking Department
2)Case No.: 08-059 In re the Matter of:
3	State of New Hampshire Banking)
4	Department,)Staff Petition)
5) June 12, 2009 Petitioner,
6	and)
7	Francis Colburn,
8	Respondent)
9)
10	I. STATEMENT OF ALLEGATIONS
11	The Staff of the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire (hereinafter,
12	"Department") alleges the following facts:
13	Facts Common on All Counts:
14	1. Respondent Francis Colburn (hereinafter, "Respondent Colburn")
15	appears to be a lender/lien holder to vehicles sold through a
16	Department licensee ("Licensee A"). Respondent Colburn is not a
17	licensed sales finance company or retail seller with the
18	Department.
19	2. Employee A is the President of Licensee A.
20	UNLICENSED ACTIVITY - AS A SALES FINANCE COMPANY
21	Violation of 361-A:3,I-a(i) Violated RSA Chapter 361-A by Engaging in
22	Activity Without a Sales Finance Company License (5 Counts):
23	3. Paragraphs 1 through 3 are hereby realleged as fully set forth
24	herein.

4. On or about January 30, 2008, the Department was notified that

25

10

11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18

19

20 21

22

23

2.4

25

Licensee A was potentially conducting unlicensed "buy here, pay here" sales finance activities in the State of New Hampshire.

- 5. A letter dated March 6, 2008 asked Licensee A and Employee A to describe the nature of its operations concerning "buy here, pay here" financing.
- 6. Licensee A's response dated March 10, 2008 stated "[a]lthough all of the notes are generated and paid for at our dealership the funding for all of these "buy here, pay here" notes actually come from a private individual". The March 10, 2008 response, which was signed by Employee A, named Respondent Colburn as the private individual.
- 7. Respondent Colburn has been listed as holding title to as many as 269 liens with the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles.
- 8. Respondent Colburn, at the time of the March 10, 2008 letter, held title to at least 12 liens.
- 9. Respondent Colburn's place of business (as disclosed on the titles) is 3 Sycamore Street, Hudson, NH 03051, which is not the office location for Licensee A.
- 10. At least five (5) of the thirteen (13) titles naming Respondent Colburn as the lien holder were filed with the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles between April 8, 2008 and April 14, 2008.
- 11. At least five (5) consumers have purchased a motor vehicle from Licensee A between April 8, 2008 and April 14, 2008.
- 12. To date, there is no pending sales finance company application

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

23

24

25

for Respondent Colburn.

- 13. There were five (5) retail installment contracts signed between April 8 and April 14, 2008, which also included fees that were The five (5) consumers need to be not statutorily allowed. reimbursed such fees as indicated below.
- 14. Consumer A's retail installment contract dated April 10, 2008 included an origination fee and documentation fee \$225.00.
- 15. Consumer A's retail installment contract and evidence of lien from the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles indicate the retail seller is Licensee A. The evidence of lien also indicates the lien holder is Respondent Colburn.
- 16. Consumer B's retail installment contract dated April 12, 2008 included an origination fee and documentation fee \$225.00.
- 17. Consumer B's retail installment contract and evidence of lien from the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles indicate the retail seller is Licensee A. The evidence of lien also indicates the lien holder is Respondent Colburn.
- 18. Consumer C's retail installment contract dated April 11, included an origination fee and documentation fee totaling \$225.00.
- 19. Consumer C's retail installment contract and evidence of lien from the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles indicate the retail seller is Licensee A. The evidence of lien also indicates

the lien holder is Respondent Colburn.

- 20. Consumer D's retail installment contract dated April 14, 2008 included an origination fee and documentation fee totaling \$225.00.
- 21. Consumer D's retail installment contract and evidence of lien from the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles indicate the retail seller is Licensee A. The evidence of lien also indicates the lien holder is Respondent Colburn.
- 22. Consumer E's retail installment contract dated April 8, 2008 included an origination fee and documentation fee totaling \$225.00.
- 23. Consumer E's retail installment contract and evidence of lien from the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles indicate the retail seller is Licensee A. The evidence of lien also indicates the lien holder is Respondent Colburn.

II. ISSUES OF LAW

The staff of the Department alleges the following issues of law:

- 1. The Department realleges the above stated facts in Paragraphs 1 through 23 as fully set forth herein.
- 2. The Department has jurisdiction over the licensing and regulation of persons engaged in retail seller and sales finance activities pursuant to NH RSA 361-A:2.
- 3. RSA 361-A:1,XIII provides that a "sales finance company" means a person engaged, in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, in the business of providing motor vehicle financing in this state to

one or more retail buyers, or in the business of purchasing retail installment contracts from one or more retail sellers. The above named Respondents are a sales finance company as described above.

- 4. RSA 361-A:3,I provides that the Commissioner may issue an order requiring a person to whom any license has been granted or any person under the Commissioner's jurisdiction to show cause why the license should not be revoked or penalties should not be imposed, or both, for violations of this chapter. Respondent Colburn is still under the Commissioner's jurisdiction due to his unlicensed activity.
- 5. RSA 361-A:3,I-a provides that the Commissioner may, by order, revoke any license if the Commissioner finds that the order is in the public interest and the respondent, or licensee, any partner, officer, member, or director, any person occupying a similar status or performing similar functions, or any person directly or indirectly controlling the respondent, or licensee, has among other types of violations, violated RSA Chapter 361-A or any rule or order thereunder. Respondent Colburn violated this provision on at least five occasions as alleged above.
- 6. RSA 361-A:3-a provides that the Department may issue a Cease and Desist Order against anyone it has reasonable cause to believe is engaging in the business of a retail seller or sales finance company without the required license as provided for in RSA Chapter 361-A.
- 7. RSA 361-A:7 provides that the retail installment contract shall

contain, among other items, the amount of the documentary fees.

Documentary fees are defined under RSA 361-A:1, IV.

- 8. RSA 361-A:1, IV provides that the definition of documentary fees is "fees for filing, recording or investigating, perfecting and releasing or satisfying a retained title or a lien created by a retail installment contract, and shall not exceed the actual cost assessed by the department of safety, division of motor vehicles, or other state or local agency for filing, recording or investigating, perfecting and releasing or satisfying such title or lien.
- 9. RSA 361-A:11,I provides that any person who shall violate any provisions of RSA Chapter 361-A, or engage in the business of a sales finance company in this state without a license therefore as provided, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor if a natural person, or guilty of a felony if any other person.
- 10. RSA 361-A:11,I-a provides that any person who willfully violates any provisions of RSA 361-A:3-b,I or any cease and desist order or injunction issued pursuant to RSA 361-A:3-a shall be guilty of a class B felony. Each of the acts specified shall constitute a separate offense and a prosecution or conviction for any one of such offenses shall not bar prosecution or conviction of any other offense.
- 11. RSA 361-A:11, III provides that any person engaging in the business of a sales finance company without a license if the license is required under RSA Chapter 361-A shall be barred from

recovering any finance charge, delinquency, or collection charge on the contract. Where no finance charge is payable under the terms of the contract, a person engaging in the business of a sales finance company without a license shall be barred from recovering any amount in excess of the wholesale market value of the vehicle, if the vehicle was purchased by the seller at a wholesale auction or other wholesale outlet, or the trade-in value of the vehicle if the seller acquired the vehicle in trade. Such value shall be that quoted for New Hampshire or the New England region in a value quotation publication generally recognized by the motor vehicle industry and as specified by the Commissioner in rules adopted pursuant to RSA 541-A.

- 12. RSA 361-A:11,VII provides that any person who, either knowingly or negligently, violates any provision of RSA Chapter 361-A, may upon hearing, and in addition to any other penalty provided for by law, be subject to an administrative fine not to exceed \$2,500.00, or both. Each of the acts specified shall constitute a separate violation, and such administrative action or fine may be imposed in addition to any criminal penalties or civil liabilities imposed by New Hampshire Banking laws.
- 13. RSA 361-A:11,VIII provides that every person who directly or indirectly controls a person liable under this section, every partner, principal executive officer or director of such person, every person occupying a similar status or performing a similar function, every employee of such person who materially aids in the

2.3

act constituting the violation, and every licensee or person acting as a common law agent who materially aids in the acts constituting the violation, either knowingly or negligently, may, upon notice and opportunity for hearing, and in addition to any other penalty provided for by law, be subject to suspension, revocation, or denial of any registration or license, including the forfeiture of any application fee, or the imposition of an administrative fine not to exceed \$2,500, or both. Each of the acts specified shall constitute a separate violation, and such administrative action or fine may be imposed in addition to any criminal or civil penalties imposed.

III. RELIEF REQUESTED

The staff of the Department requests the Commissioner take the following Action:

- Find as fact the allegations contained in section I of this Staff
 Petition;
- 2. Make conclusions of law relative to the allegations contained in section II of the this petition;
- 3. Pursuant to RSA 361-A:3-a order the above named Respondent to immediately Cease and Desist from violations of this chapter;
- 4. Find the Commissioner's order to be in the public interest;
- 5. Assess fines and administrative penalties in accordance with RSA 361-A:11, for violations of RSA Chapter 361-A, in the number and amount equal to the violations set forth in section II of this Staff Petition; and

1	6. Take such other administrative and legal actions as necessary for
2	enforcement of the New Hampshire Banking Laws, the protection of
3	New Hampshire citizens, and to provide other equitable relief.
4	IV. RIGHT TO AMEND
5	The Department reserves the right to amend this Staff Petition and to
6	request that the Commissioner take additional administrative action.
7	Nothing herein shall preclude the Department from bringing additional
8	enforcement action under RSA 361-A or the regulations thereunder.
9	
10	Respectfully submitted by:
11	
12	/s/
13	Maryam Torben Desfosses Date Hearings Examiner
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
2.5	