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State of New Hampshire Banking Department
In re the Matter of: Case No.: 07-265
State of New Hampshire Banking
Cease and Desist Order
Department,

and

Tremont Financial LLC, James
Jacobson, First Hampton Financial

LLC,

Respondents

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

NOTICE OF ORDER

This Order commences an adjudicative proceeding under the provisions of

RSA 399-A:8 and BAN 200 et seq.

LEGAL AUTHORITY AND JURISDICTION

Pursuant to RSA 397-A:8, the Banking Department of the State of New

Hampshire (hereinafter the “Department”) has the authority to issue and cause

to be served an order requiring any person engaged in any act or practice
constituting a violation of RSA 399-A or any rule or order thereunder, to
cease and desist from violations of RSA 399-A.

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:18, the Commissioner has the authority to

suspend, revoke or deny any license and to impose administrative penalties of

up to $2,500.00 for each violation of New Hampshire banking law and rules.
Pursuant to RSA 383:10-d, the Commissioner shall have exclusive
authority and jurisdiction to investigate conduct that is or may be an unfair

or deceptive act or practice under RSA 358-A and exempt under RSA 358-A:3, I

Cease and Desist Order - 1

or




10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

that may violate any of the provisions of Titles XXXV and XXXVI and
administrative rules adopted thereunder. The Commissioner may hold hearings
relative to such conduct and may order restitution for a person or persons
adversely affected by such conduct. Nothing in this cause will impair a
consumer’s right of recovery under that statute.

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A HEARING

The above named respondent has the right to request a hearing on
this Cease and Desist Order, as well as the right to be represented by
counsel. If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to
request a hearing within 30 calendar days of receipt of such order, then such
person shall be deemed in default, and the order shall, on the thirty-first
day, become permanent and shall remain in full force and effect until and
unless later modified or vacated by the commissioner, for good cause shown.

Any such request for a hearing shall be in writing, signed by the respondent
or by the duly authorized agent of the above named respondent, and shall be
delivered either by hand or certified mail, return receipt request, to the
Banking Department, State of New Hampshire, 64B 0ld Suncook Road, Concord, NH
03301.

A hearing shall be held not later than 10 days after the request for such
hearing is received by the commissioner. Within 20 days of the date of any such
hearing the commissioner shall issue a further order either vacating the cease
and desist order or making it permanent as the facts require. All hearings
shall comply with 541-A. If the person to whom a cease and desist order is
issued fails to appear at the requested hearing after being duly notified of
the date and time, such person shall be deemed in default, and the proceeding
may be determined against him or her upon consideration of the cease and desist

order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true.
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STATEMENT OF ALLEGATIONS

The allegations contained in the Staff Petition for Relief dated

October 18, 2007 (a copy of which is attached hereto) are incorporated by

reference hereto.

ORDER

WHEREAS, finding it necessary and appropriate and in the public

interest, and consistent with the intent and purposes of the New Hampshire

banking laws, and

WHEREAS, finding that the allegations contained in the Staff Petition,

if proved true and correct, form the legal basis of the relief requested,

It is hereby ORDERED, that:

1. The Respondent shall immediately cease engaging in the
capacity of a small loan lender in New Hampshire; and

2. The Respondent shall repay to consumers all moneys collected
during their unlicensed period as a result of their unlicensed
activity; and

3. Respondent Tremont Financial LLC shall show cause why it
should not be ordered to pay $27,500 for violations of the
Chapter; and

4. Respondent James Jacobsen shall show cause why he should not
be ordered to pay $27,500.00 for violations of the Chapter;
and

5. Respondent First Hampton Financial LLC shall show cause why it
should not be ordered to pay $27,500.00 for violations of the
Chapter; and

6. Failure to request a hearing within 30 days of the date of
receipt of this Order shall result in a default judgment being
rendered, administrative penalties being imposed upon the

defaulting Respondents, refunds of all sums collected being
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ordered and such further action as is necessary to determine

the proper amount of restitution.

Dated:10/18/07

NOTE: VIOLATION OF A CEASE AND DESIST ORDER IS

CRIMINAL OFFENSE.

SIGNED,

/SRAF/

PETER C. HILDRETH
BANK COMMISSIONER
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State of New Hampshire Banking Department
In re the Matter of: Case No.: 07-265

Cease and Desist Order
Staff Petition

State of New Hampshire Banking
Department,

and
October 18, 2007
Tremont Financial LLC, James
Jacobsen, and First Hampton Financial

LLC,

Respondents

~— v v e e e v e e e e e N N N

STATEMENT OF ALLEGATIONS

I. The staff of the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire (hereinafter
referred to as the "Department") alleges the following facts:

Tremont Financial LLC (hereinafter, “Tremont”) does not hold a New
Hampshire small loan license.

Tremont has an internet site which allows New Hampshire consumers to
obtain payday loans from the company without limitation.

Upon information and belief Tremont is conducting payday loan lending in
this state without maintaining an office accessible to consumers.

On June 29, 2007 Tremont made a payday loan agreement with a New Hampshire
Consumer.

The consumer was located in this state at the time of the transaction.

Besides being an unlicensed transaction, the payday loan further failed to
comply with New Hampshire law, to wit:

a. it fails to include a notice that the borrower has a right to

cancel the loan within one business day; and
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b. it fails to include a notice that the borrower may prepay the
loan at any time by repaying the principal amount and any
accrued interest; and

c. it authorizes the lender to bring suit against the borrower in
a court outside this state; and

d. it requires the waiver of rights under the Chapter; and

e. it wasn’t proceeded by the provision of a pamphlet explaining
the rights and responsibilities of a borrower; and

f. the lender did not notify the borrower in a clear and
conspicuous notice prior to disbursing the loan proceeds that
a payday loan is not intended to meet long-term financial
needs.

The loan further violates New Hampshire law by requiring:

a. an agreement by the consumer not to assert any claim or
defense arising out of the contract against the lender or any
holder in due course; and

b. an executory waiver from attachment on personal property; and

c. a contractual obligation to pay a $30 charge for insufficient
funds checks.

Upon information and belief Tremont has collected principal and interest
from New Hampshire consumers.

Upon information and belief James Jacobsen is the President of Tremont and
has personal knowledge of its activity in New Hampshire.

Upon information and belief Tremont is owned in its entirety by Respondent
First Hampton Financial LLC.

IT. The staff of the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire alleges the
following issues of law:

1. The Banking Department (“Department”), has Jjurisdiction over the
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licensing and regulation of persons engaged in small loan lending
activities pursuant to NH RSA 399-A:2 I.

Pursuant to NH RSA 397-A:8, the Department has the power to issue and
to serve an order requiring persons to cease and desist from violations
of the chapter whenever it has reasonable cause to believe that anyj
person has engaged in any act or practice constituting a violation of
the banking laws, or any rule or order thereunder. Respondent hasg
violated RSA 397-A:2 Dby conducting unlicensed small loan lending
activities in New Hampshire.

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:2 IV unlicensed lenders may not collect, receive
or retain any principal, interest, or charges if acting in an
unlicensed capacity. Respondents have violated this statute Dby
collecting principal on loans from New Hampshire consumers without
licensure.

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:3 small loan lenders conducting payday loan
lending must maintain an office in this state. Respondents have
violated this statute as alleged in I.3.

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:11 IV, no interest may be paid, deducted, oy
received in advance. Respondents violated this statute by demanding the
entirety of the finance charge despite prepayment of the loan contract.
Pursuant to RSA 399-A:11 VII, no loan contract may contain the
provisions detailed in I.7(a) and I.7(b). The Respondents violated this
statute on at least two occasions by including such provisions.

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:11 XI, no charge for fees may be contracted for.
Respondents violated this statute as alleged at I.7(c).

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:13 II, the loan contract must contain certain
notices as summarized in I.6(a) and I.6(b). Respondents violated thig
statute on at least two occasions by failing to include said notices.

Pursuant to RSA 399-A:13 III, the 1lender may not obtain certain
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10.

11.

12

13

agreements from the Dborrower as summarized at I.6(c) and TI.6(d).
Respondents violated this statute on at least two occasions by requiring
such agreements.

Pursuant to 399-A:13 XVI, a lender may not enter into a loan contract
without providing a pamphlet to the borrower. Respondents violated thig
statute as alleged at I.6(e).

Pursuant to 399-A:13 XVII, a lender may not disburse funds to a borrower
without first providing a certain notice as summarized at TI.6(f).
Respondents violated this statute by disbursing funds without providing

the notice.

.Pursuant to RSA 399-A:18 any person who, either knowingly oy

negligently, violates any provision of this chapter may, upon notice and
opportunity for hearing, and in addition to any such other penalty
provided for by law, be subject to suspension, revocation or denial of]
any registration or license, including forfeiture of any application fee,
or an administrative fine not to exceed $2,500, or both. Each of the
acts specified shall constitute a separate wviolation, and each such
administrative action or fine may be imposed in addition to any criminall

or civil penalties imposed.

.Also pursuant to RSA 399-A:18 every person who directly or indirectly]

controls a person 1liable under this section, every partner, principal
executive officer or director of such person, every person occupying 4
similar status or performing a similar function, every employee of such
person who materially aids in the act constituting the wviolation, and
every licensee or person acting as a common law agent who materially aidsg|
in the acts constituting the wviolation, either knowingly or negligently,
may, upon notice and opportunity for hearing, and in addition to any
other penalty provided for by law, be subject to suspension, revocation,

or denial of any registration or license, including the forfeiture of any]
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14.

application fee, or the imposition of an administrative fine not t9g
exceed $2,500, or both.

Pursuant to RSA 383:10-d, the commissioner shall have exclusive
authority and jurisdiction to investigate conduct that is or may be an
unfair or deceptive act or practice under RSA 358-A and exempt under RSH
358-A:3, I or that may violate any of the provisions of Titles XXXV and
XXXVI and administrative rules adopted thereunder. The commissioner may)
hold hearings relative to such conduct and may order restitution for 4
person or persons adversely affected by such conduct.

RELIEF REQUESTED

The staff of the Banking Department requests the Commissioner take the

following action:

1.

Find as fact the allegations contained in section I of the Statement of]
Allegations of this petition.

Make conclusions of law relative to the allegations contained in section
IT of the Statement of Allegations of this petition.

Pursuant to NH RSA 397-A:18, immediately Order Respondents to Cease and
Desist from violations of the New Hampshire Banking Laws and conducting
mortgage activity secured by any interest in New Hampshire real property
where licensure is required.

Issue a fine against each Respondent in the amount of $2,500.00 for each
violation of the chapter.

Order the Respondents to refund all fees and/or commissions received as 4
result of their unlicensed activity.

Take such other administrative and legal actions as are necessary fory
enforcement of the New Hampshire Banking laws, the protection of New
Hampshire citizens, and to provide other equitable relief.

RIGHT TO AMEND
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The Department reserves the right to amend this Petition for Relief and

to request that the Banking Department Commissioner take additional

administrative action. Nothing herein shall preclude the Department from

bringing additional enforcement action under RSA 397-A or the regulations

thereunder.

Respectfully submitted by:

/8/

10/18/07

James Shepard
Staff Attorney

Date
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