# State of New Hampshire Banking Department

2

1

3

In re the Matter of:

Department,

State of New Hampshire Banking

and

Mass Lending LLC and Elizabeth Reed,

Respondents

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2122

23

24

25

) Cease and Desist Order
)
)
)
)

Case No.: 07-185

# NOTICE OF ORDER

This Order commences an adjudicative proceeding under the provisions of RSA 397-A:18 II and BAN 200 et seq.

# LEGAL AUTHORITY AND JURISDICTION

Pursuant to RSA 397-A:18 II, the Banking Department of the State of New Hampshire (hereinafter the "Department") has the authority to issue and cause to be served an order requiring any person engaged in any act or practice constituting a violation of RSA 397-A or any rule or order thereunder, to cease and desist from violations of RSA 397-A.

Pursuant to RSA 397-A:21, the Commissioner has the authority to suspend, revoke or deny any license and to impose administrative penalties of up to \$2,500.00 for each violation of New Hampshire banking law and rules.

Pursuant to RSA 383:10-d, the Commissioner shall have exclusive authority and jurisdiction to investigate conduct that is or may be an unfair or deceptive act or practice under RSA 358-A and exempt under RSA 358-A:3, I or

1 | t 2 | 6 3 | 1 4 | 6

that may violate any of the provisions of Titles XXXV and XXXVI and administrative rules adopted thereunder. The Commissioner may hold hearings relative to such conduct and may order restitution for a person or persons adversely affected by such conduct. Nothing in this cause will impair a consumer's right of recovery under that statute.

## NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A HEARING

The above named respondent has the right to request a hearing on this Cease and Desist Order, as well as the right to be represented by counsel. If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to request a hearing within 30 calendar days of receipt of such order, then such person shall be deemed in default, and the order shall, on the thirty-first day, become permanent and shall remain in full force and effect until and unless later modified or vacated by the commissioner, for good cause shown. Any such request for a hearing shall be in writing, signed by the respondent or by the duly authorized agent of the above named respondent, and shall be delivered either by hand or certified mail, return receipt request, to the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire, 64B Old Suncook Road, Concord, NH 03301.

A hearing shall be held not later than 10 days after the request for such hearing is received by the commissioner. Within 20 days of the date of any such hearing the commissioner shall issue a further order either vacating the cease and desist order or making it permanent as the facts require. All hearings shall comply with 541-A. If the person to whom a cease and desist order is issued fails to appear at the requested hearing after being duly notified of the date and time, such person shall be deemed in default, and the proceeding may be determined against him or her upon consideration of the cease and desist order, the allegations of which may be deemed to be true.

# STATEMENT OF ALLEGATIONS

The allegations contained in the <u>Staff Petition for Relief</u> dated July 18, 2007 (a copy of which is attached hereto) are incorporated by reference hereto.

#### ORDER

WHEREAS, finding it necessary and appropriate and in the public interest, and consistent with the intent and purposes of the New Hampshire banking laws, and

WHEREAS, finding that the allegations contained in the Staff Petition, if proved true and correct, form the legal basis of the relief requested,

It is hereby ORDERED, that:

- The Respondents shall immediately cease engaging in the activity of a mortgage banker / broker on residential property in New Hampshire; and
- 2. The Respondents shall repay to consumers all commissions collected as a result of their unlicensed activity; and
- Respondent Mass Lending LLC shall show cause why it should not be ordered to pay \$10,000.00 for violations of the Chapter;
   and
- 4. Respondent Reed shall show cause why she should be ordered to pay \$10,000.00 for violations of the Chapter; and
- 5. Failure to request a hearing within 30 days of the date of receipt of this Order shall result in a default judgment being rendered, administrative penalties being imposed upon the defaulting Respondents, refunds of all commissions being ordered and such further action as is necessary to determine the proper amount of restitution.

1	SIGNED,
2	
3	Dated: 7/30/07 /S/ PETER C. HILDRETH
4	BANK COMMISSIONER
5	NOTE: VIOLATION OF A CEASE AND DESIST ORDER IS A
6	CRIMINAL OFFENSE.
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	

4

5

1

3

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2.1

22

23

24

25

In re the Matter of: Case No.: 07-185 State of New Hampshire Banking Cease and Desist Order Staff Petition Department, and July 18, 2007 Mass Lending LLC and Elizabeth Reed, Respondents

# STATEMENT OF ALLEGATIONS

- The staff of the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire (hereinafter referred to as the "Department") alleges the following facts:
  - 1. During an examination of a licensed entity, the Examiner in Charge ("EIC") noted the licensee had accepted mortgage originations from an entity they knew as Mass Lending LLC (hereinafter "Respondent Mass").
  - 2. Respondent Mass's primary business location is Needham, MA.
  - 3. Respondent Elizabeth Reed (hereinafter "Respondent Reed") is the Manager of Respondent Mass.
  - 4. The EIC noted that Respondent Mass originated at least 10 loans, then placed these loans with the licensed entity in expectation of compensation.
  - 5. These loans were originated by an individual named Lisa Reed.
  - 6. Upon information and belief Lisa Reed is actually Respondent Reed.
  - 7. Respondent Mass was not licensed as a mortgage broker nor was it entitled to any compensation. Respondent Mass engaged in activity that

3

4

6

5

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

2.1

22 23

24

25

required it to obtain a license.

- The staff of the Banking Department, State of New Hampshire alleges the following issues of law:
  - 1. The Banking Department ("Department"), has jurisdiction over the licensing and regulation of persons engaged in first mortgage banker / broker activities pursuant to NH RSA 397-A:3.
  - 2. Pursuant to the New Hampshire Banking laws, RSA 397-A:3 requires any person not exempt under RSA 397-A:4 that, in its own name or on behalf of other persons, engages in the business of making or brokering first mortgage loans secured by real property located in this state shall be required to obtain a license from the banking department.
  - 3. Pursuant to NH RSA 397-A:18, the Department has the power to issue and to serve an order requiring persons to cease and desist from violations of the chapter whenever it has reasonable cause to believe that any person has engaged in any act or practice constituting a violation of the banking laws, or any rule or order thereunder. Respondent has violated RSA 397-A:3 by conducting unlicensed mortgage banker / broker activities in New Hampshire.
  - 4. Pursuant to RSA 397-A:1 originators may only work for one mortgage broker at a time.
  - 5. Pursuant to RSA 397-A:16 only licensed mortgage brokers and bankers are entitled to retain commissions for their services.
  - 6. Pursuant to RSA 397-A:21 any person who, either knowingly negligently, violates any provision of this chapter may, upon notice and opportunity for hearing, and in addition to any such other penalty provided for by law, be subject to suspension, revocation or denial of any registration or license, including forfeiture of any application fee, or an administrative fine not to exceed \$2,500, or both. Each of the

17

18

19 20

2.1

22

23

24

25

acts specified shall constitute a separate violation, and each such administrative action or fine may be imposed in addition to any criminal or civil penalties imposed.

- 7. Also pursuant to RSA 397-A:21 every person who directly or indirectly controls a person liable under this section, every partner, principal executive officer or director of such person, every person occupying a similar status or performing a similar function, every employee of such person who materially aids in the act constituting the violation, and every licensee or person acting as a common law agent who materially aids in the acts constituting the violation, either knowingly or negligently, may, upon notice and opportunity for hearing, and in addition to any other penalty provided for by law, be subject to suspension, revocation, or denial of any registration or license, including the forfeiture of any application fee, or the imposition of an administrative fine not to exceed \$2,500, or both.
- 8. Pursuant to RSA 383:10-d, the commissioner shall have authority and jurisdiction to investigate conduct that is or may be an unfair or deceptive act or practice under RSA 358-A and exempt under RSA 358-A:3, I or that may violate any of the provisions of Titles XXXV and XXXVI and administrative rules adopted thereunder. The commissioner may hold hearings relative to such conduct and may order restitution for a person or persons adversely affected by such conduct.

#### RELIEF REQUESTED

The staff of the Banking Department requests the Commissioner take the following action:

- 1. Find as fact the allegations contained in section I of the Statement of Allegations of this petition.
- 2. Make conclusions of law relative to the allegations contained in section